City of Fort Worth selects six finalists for new chief of police

The six finalists for the City of Fort Worth Police Chief were selected from more than 50 candidates. (Ian Pribanic / Community Impact Newspaper)

With Fort Worth Police Chief Ed Kraus set to retire, the search for a Fort Worth replacement is well underway as the city announced in December that six finalists had been selected to fill the position.

The city’s staff and leadership conducted a national search and the six finalists were selected from more than 50 candidates, according to a Fort Worth city news release on December 28th.

“Choosing who will run our police department is one of the most important hiring decisions we must make,” said David Cooke, manager of Fort Worth City, in the press release.

Fort Worth residents will have the opportunity to meet the finalists at a community meeting on January 14th at 6:30 pm at the Fort Worth Convention Center. In addition to personal participation, the community meeting will be broadcast on FWTV as well as on the city’s website and its pages on social media platforms.

The position finalists include:

  • Wendy Baimbridge, assistant director of the Houston Police Department who joined HPD in 1992;
  • Troy Gay, Austin Police Department deputy chief who has been with APD since 1991 and has served as deputy chief since 2013;
  • Christopher C. Jones, FBI National Academy graduate who joined the Las Vegas Sheriff’s Department as Assistant Sheriff in February 2020;
  • Derick D. Miller, Chief of Police of the Carrolton Police Department, with CPD since 1992 and its chief since 2017;
  • Neil Nokes, assistant chief of the Fort Worth Police Department, who joined the role in 2019; and
  • Julie A. Swearingin, assistant director of the Fort Worth Police Department and a graduate of the FBI National Academy.

Fort Worth residents can email comments and questions to the city council at [email protected] through January 9th.

For more information on the finalists for the Fort Worth Police Chief position, please visit here.

Comments are closed.