Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra announces Fourth of July Concert

Music director M.Iguel Harth-Bedoya and the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra announced the appointment of three new musicians in the fields of trombone, horn and viola.

Joseph Dubas is the newly appointed solo trombone. In addition, two annual appointments were made Nicolette LaBonte, Principal Horn and Anna Colotylina, Principal Viola, said the symphony in a press release.

Dubas joined the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra as a solo trombone in 2019. Prior to his appointment to the FWSO, he held positions in the Richmond Symphony Orchestra and the Sarasota Orchestra.

He studied at Northwestern University, where he was a student of Michael Mulcahy, Timothy Higgins, Randall Hawes, R. Douglas Wright and Christopher Davis.

Joseph was a Fellow at the Pacific Music Festival and the Music Academy of West, where he was a finalist in the 2018 Concert Competition. In 2017 he won the Lewis Van Haney Prize of the International Trombone Association.

Ukrainian violist Anna Kolotylina started playing the violin at the age of 5. During her school days she performed as a soloist with a Lutsk Philharmonic Orchestra and was part of the famous Ukrainian ensemble “Volyniany”, which has a solid touring schedule throughout the Slovak Republic, Poland. Austria, Luxembourg, Germany, Italy, Spain and Portugal.

In 1999 and 2001 Kolotylina won first prize and grand prix at the Lutsk regional competition and took part in the Kiev national competition, which was awarded the prestigious “New Name in Ukraine” prize.

South Florida native LaBonte is currently the main horn of the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra. She joined the FWSO in 2019 and is currently on leave from her position as Associate / Assistant / Utility Horn of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, where she has been working since 2016.

In addition to FWSO and RPO, LaBonte has held positions with the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra and the Oahu Choral Society and has had the opportunity to perform with orchestras across the country including the New York Philharmonic, Buffalo Philharmonic, New World Symphony and Syracuse-based Symphoria.

Comments are closed.